If your vehicle has been impounded it is important to retrieve the vehicle as soon as possible to
avoid daily (and costly) impound lot storage charges. Before a vehicle can be retrieved from the
impound lot, a VEHICLE RELEASE must be obtained from the Edmonston Police Department. A
Vehicle Release is an official form which authorizes the towing company to turn the vehicle over
to it's rightful owner, after all towing and storage charges have been paid.
In order to retrieve an impounded vehicle the owner or an individual with power of attorney status
1. Appear in person at Edmonston Police Headquaters located at 5005 52nd Avenue; Hyattsville,
Maryland 20781. Releases are available only during normal business hours (Monday-Friday
9 a.m. To 4:30 p.m. Excluding holiday’s and administrative closure dates.
2. Present valid proof of vehicle ownership which consist of a vehicle registration or title. You
must also present governmental photographic identification.
3. Pay the administrative impound fee as listed:
Impounded Vehicle (Traffic/Parking Violation) - $85.00
Impounded Vehicle (Traffic Accident) - $70.00
Impounded Vehicle (Traffic Accident / Edmonston Resident) - $20.00
Impounded Vehicle - Recovered Stolen Vehicle - $20.00
Cash, credit cards, and Money Orders only. Personal Checks are not acceptable. (Please note
that this fee is in addition to the towing and storage charges from McDonald's Towing Service)
4. Appear in person at McDonald's Towing Service with the vehicle release form. At that time you
are required to render all towing and storage fees, Mdconald’s towing is located at 2917 52nd
Avenue - Hyattsville, Maryland 20781. You may contact by phone at (301) 864-4133.
Owners are reminded that you must have valid registration, a licensed driver and current insurance
to lawfully remove the vehicle from the impound lot.
IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT PRIVATE IMPOUNDS
Private property owners have the lawful right to remove vehicles that have parked on their property without
authorization or which violate management rules. Many apartment complexes and shopping centers employ
the use of contract towing services to impound vehicles from their property.
The police department does not regulate these types of "private impounds," and has no involvement in the
release of vehicles that were impounded under those circumstances. If you think your vehicle was towed from
private property, you should contact a representative of the property management. Additionally, state law
requires that properties which utilize vehicle impound towing must display clearly posted signs indicating the
towing company’s address and phone number as well as other information dictated in the related statue.