The Town of Edmonston governing body consists of a Mayor and four Council members, supported by a Town Administrator and Town Clerk. The Town is divided into two wards, and two Council members represent each ward. The Mayor and Council Members are elected to three-year terms of office.

Town Council meetings are held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m.  Work sessions are occasionally scheduled on the 1st Tuesday of the month. Meetings are held in the Town Hall building and are open to the public who are encouraged to attend. For further information, please see the event calendar or call 301-699-8806.

Honorable Mayor Tracy Gant

Mayor Gant was appointed to the Edmonston Town Council in 1992, the first African American to serve on the Town Council. She was elected to the council in 1994 and served as Vice Mayor in 2013.  Mayor Gant was elected Mayor in 2014 and re-elected in 2017. She is active with the Maryland Municipal League (MML).  She is a Past Chairman and member of the MML Convention Planning Committee, Past Chair of the Communications Committee; Board member at large, President-elect and currently President. One of her first initiatives as President of MML was the development of the “Time to Talk” program where she has supported the efforts to build inclusive communities across the State of Maryland. Mayor Gant is a Property Manager with Grady Management. She is married with 3 children and 4 grandchildren.


Ward 1 Council Member Kony Serrano Portillo

Kony Serrano Portillo is serving her first term as Ward 1 Council Member. Ms. Portillo has lived in Edmonston for over 5 years, and currently serving as the Deputy Chief of Staff for County Council District 7 Representative. She was born and raised in El Salvador and came to the United States when she was 9 years old.

Kony was raised in an environment of advocacy for human, civil and immigrant rights. Throughout the duration of Ms. Portillo’s career, she has lobbied in the Maryland General Assembly for two years, advocating for healthcare access for all, regardless of immigrant status.

Currently, Kony works on advocating for immigrants and the gender wage gap, outside of her work at the County Council, she loves to travel and spend time with her rescue dog, Khalo.

Ward 1 Council Member Elizabeth “Betsy” McCauley

Betsy McCauley is the newly elected Ward 1 Council Member. Betsy previously served on the Edmonston Town Council. She and her husband have lived in Edmonston for 36 years. She has been the owner of Plas-Tech, a plastic fabricating company for the past 25 years. Betsy loves sports and has coached basketball, football, soccer, and softball. She was named “Coach of the Year” by the Archdiocese. Betsy and her husband, Jerry, have 4 children and 5 grandchildren. Betsy loves to walk the neighborhoods with her 2 dogs.    


Ward 2 Council Member John Johnson

John Johnson is serving his third 3 year term as a Ward 2 Council Member. He has been involved with the Edmonston in Bloom Green Team since 2014. He has coordinated several the Bloom/Green Team’s efforts, serving as a team leader for annual Earth Day cleanup of the Anacostia River, coordinating Bike to Work activities, Black History celebrations, community celebrations and workshops. He represents the Town of Edmonston at numerous regional meetings. He volunteers at every opportunity that arises.


Ward 2 Council Member Sarah Turberville

Sarah Turberville represents Ward 2 of the Town of Edmonston. She works full time as Director of Justice Programs at The Constitution Project in Washington DC, coordinating public education and advocacy efforts with respect to a variety of matters relating to the criminal justice system and protection of democracy.  She is a member of the Maryland Bar. Along with her wife, daughter, son, and unruly (but lovable) dog, she spends most weekends enjoying Edmonston’s parks and trails, gardening and porch-sitting.