Photo Enforcement

Does a Red Light Camera conviction affect my driver’s license?

No. Red Light Camera violations are considered “civil violations,” and are not a part of your driver’s license record, nor do they assess points.

Will the fine increase if I don’t pay it by the due date?

The fine will not increase from the original $75.00, however payments not made by a certain date will cause your vehicle registration information to be sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles, which will in turn, post a “flag”. This flag will prevent the owner from renewing the vehicle’s registration until the outstanding fines have been paid, and an official “Flagging Release” has been issued by the police department. In those cases, an additional $50.00 administrative fee is added to the original fine to offset the cost of the flagging program.

Can I pay for my Red Light Camera Ticket in person?

Yes. You can visit the Walk- In Center located at 9418 Annapolis Road, Suite 104 Lanham Maryland 20706

Can I pay for my Red Light Camera Ticket in by phone or online?

Yes to both. For telephone payments, call 1-866-979-4824 or  You will need a copy of your citation with you when calling.

I paid my outstanding Red Light Camera ticket online, but my tags had already been flagged. I was able to print a receipt on my home printer, but how do I get the official “flagging release” receipt?

The police department uses a third party company to collect online payments. That company notifies us  when “flagged” payments have been made,  It takes 48-72 hours for the MVA to release the flag associated with flagging of the tags; if you require a release sooner you can visit Town Hall at 5005 52nd Ave. Edmonston, Maryland 20781.

I received a Red Light Camera ticket in the mail, but I am sure I stopped for the light. Why did I receive this?

In addition to vehicles which proceed through the intersection while the light is in the red phase, red light camera violations are also triggered by vehicles that pass the clearly marked “stop line” or enter the pedestrian crosswalk. You would not have received a citation unless one of those three conditions had been met.

What real purpose does the Red Light Camera System serve?

Red light running is a leading cause of urban crashes and often causes injury and death. According to  the Federal Highway Administration, approximately 250 people nationwide are killed or injured each day by red light violators. This amounts to more than 1,100 deaths and over 150,000 injuries a year in crashes that result from running red lights. More than half of the deaths are pedestrians and occupants of other vehicles who are hit by red light violators. Studies show that red light cameras significantly reduce the number of red light violations and intersection crashes. Photo enforcement is a proven deterrent that changes behavior and leads to safer driving habits.

Red light cameras also provide a more effective means of law enforcement than traditional enforcement methods carried out by police. Enforcing traffic laws in dense urban areas proves difficult for police officers, as they typically follow a violating vehicle through the red signal in order to cite it. Traffic volume and safety considerations mean that law enforcement officials can only apprehend a fraction of the violators, putting motorists and pedestrians as risk. Jurisdictions would need tremendous financial capabilities to constantly patrol intersections in order to cite red light violators. Red light cameras provide safe and consistent enforcement at a reasonable cost, while allowing officers to focus on other enforcement issues.

How can I contest this citation?

You can request to stand trial in District Court by completing the form on the reverse side of your citation or by mailing to the Town of Edmonston, PO Box 17060, Baltimore Maryland 21297.You will then be notified of a court date by mail. You are not required to bring your copy of the citation to court (unless you want to), as the judge will have a copy of your citation in front of him or her, as well as enlarged pictures of the violation. If you are found guilty, the maximum you can be charged is $100.00, plus court costs.

Scroll to Top